Seventy-Six McAllen Memorial High School Students Awarded with Academic Honors from College Board National Recognition Programs


McAllen Memorial High School students excelled in College Board assessments and schoolwork to earn these awards, which colleges use to identify academically competitive underrepresented students


McAllen, Texas – Seventy-six McAllen Memorial High School students have earned academic honors from the College Board National Recognition Programs. These National Recognition Programs grant underrepresented students with academic honors that can be included on college and scholarship applications and connect students with universities across the country, helping them meaningfully connect to colleges and stand out during the admissions process. Colleges and scholarship programs identify students awarded National African American, Hispanic, Indigenous and/or Rural/Small Town Recognition through College Board’s Student 

Students who may be eligible have a GPA of 3.5 or higher and have excelled on the PSAT/NMSQT or PSAT 10, or earned a score of 3 or higher on two or more AP Exams; and are African American or Black, Hispanic American or Latinx, Indigenous, and/or attend school in a rural area or small town.

 Eligible students will be invited to apply during their sophomore or junior year and will be awarded at the beginning of the next school year. Students will receive their awards in time to include them on their college and scholarship applications.

“We want to honor the hard work of these students through the College Board National Recognition Programs. This program creates a way for colleges and scholarship programs to connect directly with underrepresented students who they are hoping to reach,” said Tarlin Ray, College Board senior vice president of BigFuture. “We hope the award winners and their families celebrate this prestigious honor and it helps them plan for their big future.”

The following student(s) have been awarded recognition:

Alexis Aguilar
Elian Amador
Nicholas Arevalo
Michelle Garcia Barrera
Isabella Bechtold
Maria Fernanda Brenner
Ximena Cabrera
Alexis Calderon
Rachel Carballo
Kate Castorena
Avril Cruz
Sofia Davila
Maryle Diaz
Amy Dominguez
Shiomara Dominguez
Yaleina Escobedo
Angel Flores
Daniella Fonseca
Alexander Gallardo-Lopez
Daniel Gallegos
Marlissa Garcia
Paolo Garcia
Victoria Garcia
Aram Garza
Phylicia Garza
Juan Gomez
Esteban Gonzalez
Ruby Gonzalez-Sanchez
Noah Griffith
Isabella Guerra
Diego Guerrero
Arianna Guzman
Karla Hernandez
Melissa Hernandez
Vincent Honrubia
Jonathan Hopkins
Tamara Ibarra
Sofia Iglesias
Ana Leal
Simon Lema
Mariana Lozano
Liliana Martinez
Aniela Matulewicz
Sydney Medrano
Karla Mendez
Rafael Mendoza
Camila Moreno
Aiden Moya
Cristian Moya
Madison Munoz
Caleb Navarro
Diego Nelson
Juan Olaguibel
Daniela Oseguera
Cecilia Ramirez
Jessie Ramos
Johanna Reyna
Rebecca Reyna
Sebastian Rivas
Ludwig Rodriguez
Mia Rodriguez
Saul Rojas
Emeterio Salinas
Ashanty Sanchez
Javier Sanchez-Azua
Joshua Silva
Brooke Smith
Asa Solis
Ximena Torres
Julia Trevino
Karla Jimenez- Valencia
Eunice Villa
Nathaniel Walborg
Zander Wasielewski
Hamilton Webber
Erik Zamora